Sputter… sputter… cough…

funny-women-and-the-check-engine-light-01

Yes, that is the sound of my engine stalling. My writing engine has been stalled for a while now. I still make progress, but not nearly at the rate I want to be, and it gets incredibly frustrating. Especially when I know that I have people awaiting the second book. It’s such an amazing thing to have people anxious for my story and my characters… I know Rennie would be so pleased (well, Maia would be pleased. Rennie would be a little mystified by that, I think).

I notice myself getting lots of mental prep done (which is a big part of it for me… I do most of my writing in my head and then just translate to paper… anyone else do that?) and then suddenly I’m chasing plot bunnies, or distracted by the fact that I haven’t stumbled onto the perfect title yet, or cruising around Pintrest and Polyvore wondering what Rennie would be wearing whilst running through the forest at 2am with Ethan.

When I buckled down and got to work on Drawn In to finally finish it and get it out into the world, I had a set schedule and I made myself stick to it. I’ve been lacking in that sort of discipline lately and it definitely shows. So here I am, publicly stating that I am setting a schedule for myself. Hear that, world? I’m on the move, so watch out!

10 thoughts on “Sputter… sputter… cough…

  1. Hey! That’s totally how I’m feeling with my sequel. I’ve got it all planned, I’m more than halfway done, but I’m lacking discipline too! I’ll send creative motivated thoughts your way, Sioux! Yours too Leandra!

    Like

  2. Hey! That’s totally how I’m feeling with my sequel. I’ve got it all planned, I’m more than halfway done, but I’m lacking discipline too! I’ll send creative motivated thoughts your way, Sioux! Yours too, Leandra!

    Like

  3. oh, shall we form a club?? YOU DO NOT EVEN KNOW, SIOUX. LIKE, YOU DO NOT FREAKING KNOW. My current WIP is legit killing me, word by word, character by character, plot by sub-freaking-plot. I know the idea is great (agent approved too), I believe in my heart it’s solid. But for whatever reason it’s just trudging along at a snail’s pace. I obsess. I overthink. I doubt EVERY word. Also, since I know so much more than I did w/previous MSs, I think I’m a little scared/daunted at the idea of how much I’ll have to revise it. I miss the good old days when I was naive and thought a MS needed minimal changes and presto! it was perf. lol. But I know we got this! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

