The Voices in My Head…

audiobooks

My latest venture is to work on transferring the voices in my head into your head. In other (less creepy) words, I’m figuring out how to make Drawn In into an audiobook. I’m using ACX, a website that is linked to Amazon in the same way that CreateSpace is linked to Amazon. By using them, I will be able to release my book with Audible, iTunes, and Amazon all at once. Exciting right? I’m still a little confused on the process. It all seems too easy, too casual. I’ve read the site so many times, but it just seems too simple. Pick someone to read, approve their first 15 minutes, give some notes, approve the whole thing, put it out there. Done; people can buy it. Shouldn’t there be some angst or drama involved? Maybe there will be some of that in the notes and approval phase. Or maybe it’s just that easy. Here’s hoping, right?

So now is the truly thrilling part… I’m auditioning narrators. This is also the difficult part however. See, I know what Rennie sounds like, she’s been in my head for a very long time now. I think as soon as I hear it, I’ll know it. I have a background in theatre, and I posted on facebook, tagging a bunch of my actor friends to have them audition. I have amaaaaaazingly high hopes for several of them who are interested (can’t wait to hear them ALL!!), and I have particularly high hopes for one in particular who has the potential to BEEEEEEEE Rennie. Seriously. I won’t elaborate, because I am open to all possibilities, all auditions, and I would love to be surprised. I’m just excited at the chance to find The One.

I love audio books. If I didn’t have GPS, I would have completely gotten lost on my trip moving from PA to Missouri while I was listening to The Host. (And say what you will about Stefanie Meyer, but I freakin LOVE that book, and it’s due to the audio version that completely sucked me in.) So anyway, all I really want is a chance to join that world. To have my book available while people are walking their dog or jogging or stuck in traffic… how amazing would that be? What are your feelings about audio books? Do you prefer single voiced narration or multi-actor casts?

4 thoughts on “The Voices in My Head…

    • Thanks Leandra! I can’t believe you’ve never listened … you simply MUST! The Harry Potter books are extraordinary on cd!! I know what you’re thinking… “but I’ve already read those!” Trust me, it’s a whole new experience. You get swept up in the book and the story and the words in a wholly different way from reading the words on a page. Next time you have a road trip or some extended period in the car, try it. I think you’ll be surprised how much you love it. 🙂

      Like

  1. okay, I am officially going to listen to a book on tape now!! This sounds SO COOL–and I love that you already have a feeling who your Rennie will be. It’s crazy how we can picture our characters voices! Another thing: I have never read THE HOST and now I’m adding it to my TBR–where have i been!?! I know it’s unpopular opinion but I freaking loved the Twilight series.

    Like

    • The Host is very different from the Twilight series, and it’s a stand-alone. But I fell for it completely… this is weird, but one of my favourite things about it is the chapter titles. They make me want to title all of my chapters! You’ll have to let me know your thoughts when you’ve read it! 🙂 (And PS, I was totally Team Edward!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

