8 Things I’ve learned about Sequel Writing

part ii

So, as it turns out, writing book two is hard. This isn’t a surprise, per se. And yet… it is. You see, when I was writing book one, there was a lot of time spent in learning the basic craft of the writing itself. A lot of time in re-writing and editing and deleting and finding my way. There was also a LOT of time spent figuring out my very basic plot elements. Drawn In was based on a dream that I had, and that dream remained the basis of my story. But, as dreams tend to be, it wasn’t complete. It wasn’t a story. So that was difficult in its own way, but I’m not dealing with that part of the process now. I know my story, I know where I’m headed, and I am really comfortable with Rennie’s voice now. So those things are coming easier, for sure. However … now I’m dealing with a whole new set of issues, and some of them are a little unexpected. Here are a few things that I’m learning as I write book two:

  • Action and plot are not the same thing
  • A love triangle does not have to be central to the story, but it’s SO much fun to play with
  • A quirky first line is not as useful as a functional first line
  • Minor characters from book one DEMAND equal page time in book two (if not more)
  • Names are important
  • Details are important
  • People have Expectations now (and I like it!)
  • I love love love world-building

Such an interesting thing this writing thing is, and I’m so happy to have this as a part of my life. It’s funny to admit, but you know what? I kind of feel like a writer now.

6 thoughts on “8 Things I’ve learned about Sequel Writing

  1. Oh I highly recommend it! It’s quite the exercise in determination and details for sure. And yes! Feeling like a writer is really really nice. I reached 10 reviews on Amazon and I think that finally helped to push me over the edge to feeling like maybe I’m an author after all. 🙂

    Like

  2. So I haven’t had my coffee yet and I click on this and I swear I read “8 Things I’ve Learned About Squirrels.” HA. And yes to the first line! I tend to obsess over mine to no end…but I find it always just comes, and all it needs is to be functional, not overly flowery. Easier said than done! I also love love triangles. I have yet to write one but I plan to one day…I have NO Idea why there is so much hate against them!

    Like

  3. Well now I really want to write a post about 8 Things I’ve Learned About Squirrels! All I really know is “Squeak Squeaker Squeak Squeaken. You owe me a new acorn.” Which probably isn’t useful unless you’re Kronk from the Emperor’s New Groove. 🙂 I really don’t know why people hate love triangles so much either! I think if they’re done well, they can be really fun and even useful to plot points. Those people are just missing out.

    Like

  4. Right there with you Sioux, on all those points.

    I took my first line from Book 1 and reversed it for Book 2! And I have to reference back to Book 1 for physical descriptions of characters. Really should make a character bible. And then there’s the expectation thing–gulp, fingers crossed.

    But you’ll do it and draw us into it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Pete! You definitely get where I’m coming from, I know! Those expectations are tricky, but it’s fun to know there are people who love it enough to want more, right? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

