Fast Five Friday strikes again!

FFF badge

Friday again already? How did this happen? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining – I love me some Fridays! Okay, so here we go. Today’s topic is Top Five Favourite Authors. This one is tricky, folks. Too many years, books, genres, memories… how to decide? So I think for me, the key is just to go with my gut and don’t over think this (as I am often wont to do). Knowing that there are many many many more hiding behind the scenes, here are my top five favourite authors. In no particular order.

1. A.A. Milne. Author of Winnie the Pooh and the House at Pooh Corner. You would think that this is a throwback from childhood influences, but really, these are still some of my favourite books. Not only are they full of wisdom and complex thoughts hidden in simple stories, but A A Milne taught me how to play with language & to not be intimidated by the simplicity of words. (By the way, A A stands for Alan Alexander, in case you wanted a little trivia with your blog reading.)

pooh

2. Stephen R Lawhead. I suppose when you’ve read every book an author has written, it only makes sense to list them among your favourites. The first books I read of his were a trilogy called the Song of Albion (the first book is the Paradise War). They’re a beautiful blend of reality and mythology, magic and religion. Fantastic characters, world-building, they’ve got the works. A few great stand alone books are Byzantium and Patrick. 

paradise war

3. Margaret George. She writes historical fiction in the form of ginormous 1000 page opuses. My personal go-to is Mary, Queen of Scotland and the Isles but a very very close second is the Memoirs of Cleopatra. I love historical fiction as a general rule, but hers are on a whole other level.

mary queen of scots

4. Veronica Roth. This is bound to be a controversial answer, since she only has one trilogy out in the world and no one knows what will be next. But I’m confident. Divergent pulled me in so thoroughly and still, years later, has not released its hold on me. I keep all three books in my desk at work because I loan them out so often. I have the calendar of movie photos over my desk (okay, mainly for pictures of Theo James, but still…). And so, she gets a place in my top five.

divergent book

5. Tamora Pierce. When I was in junior high, I stumbled upon the Alanna series. It changed my life. I’ve read several of her books since then, and always enjoy them. But those books hold a special place in my heart. A girl disguising herself as a boy to join the army, learning to fight with a sword and face her fears and foes head-on… it sounds formulaic today, but at the time, in my little tween brain, it was revolutionary. It started me on a path of seeking out fantasy books and strong female characters. And look at that, [undisclosed number of] years later, here I am writing a light fantasy book with a strong female main character. I’d definitely call that influential.

alanna

Okay, so lots of others I love who didn’t make the list, and through no other reason than I didn’t happen to think of them at the moment. But this is a good sampling, for sure. And there we go! Who are your faves?

2 thoughts on “Fast Five Friday strikes again!

  1. oh I still have to read Divergent! I can’t imagine having to choose just 5, ah! It’s tough. Okay I’ll try (not in any order though!): J.K. Rowling, Sarah Dessen, Harlan Coben, Sophie Kinsella, Morgan Matson, oh man there are more but I love these writers!

    Like

    • Ooo good choices! I haven’t read Harlan Coben yet though. I can’t believe you haven’t read Divergent! I know it’s kind of a bandwagon thing right now cos of the movies, but this is one that is worth the hype. I should have listed JK Rowling. What was I thinking?

      Like

Leave a Reply

