Decemberish Thoughts

winter-wallpaper-love

I’m home with a really nasty cold today, and as not fun as that is, it feels like a perfect excuse to catch up on my blog. December is my favourite time of year. I love winter weather, I love Starbucks red cups and Egg Nog Lattes (thank goodness they brought them back! What were they thinking??), I love Christmas specials and Christmas movies and Christmas trees and Christmas shopping… I freaking love December.

This year, I kind of feel like I’ve missed it. For the most part, it was for a super good reason… I got to spend almost two weeks in Japan! It was the trip of a lifetime, and so amazing to see Tokyo and the Ginza and Mt. Fuji and all the wonders of Tokyo Disney firsthand. And they were all decked out for Christmas everywhere, so I definitely got my fix while we were there. (A separate post with some pics will follow, I promise!) And then as soon as we got back, I got sick. This is actually not that unusual for me, unfortunately. My immune system is out of whack, and it’s hard for me not to pick up every bug that floats around. So add that to the recycled air on three flights and a day that literally lasted about 31 hours, and it equals me getting sick. Whee.

So here I am, with no Christmas decorations on my tree, hardly any Christmas presents bought (let alone wrapped or shipped), and my Christmas spirit is running very low. So I’ve decided (just now, in this moment; this is not what my post was going to be at all!) that I am going to make a Love List for December. I still have a week until Christmas, and let me tell you… it will happen ready or not, so I might as well enjoy the heck out of it. Here goes…

A Love List for December

Christmas shopping

Buying wrapping paper & bows & cards & tags

Christmas music!

Fireplaces

Snow (even though we don’t have any yet, I love the potential)

Sweaters and scarves

People are nicer

Bells ringing outside Wal-Mart

Christmas lights

Sending & getting Christmas cards

Christmas movies & cheesy TV specials

Christmas cookies

Nativity scenes

Wreaths on front doors

Red cups at Starbucks

Cozy blankets & cocoa with little marshmallows

Okay, I’ll stop there because I really could go on and on and on. My spirit isn’t fully restored yet, but I am hopeful. And, cold or no cold, it’s time to light a few scented candles and put some ornaments on the tree. I can do that while I’m on codeine, right? What’s the worst that could happen? 🙂

Merry Christmas!!

2 thoughts on “Decemberish Thoughts

  1. Just don’t put the ornaments in the lit candles, and you’ll be alright! Lol! Sorry to hear you got sick, I can imagine travel like that is rough on the system. Hope you’re all better my Christmas! I absolutely love Christmas lights, they’re my fav of the season. Though I am not a fan of all those blow up things ppl have been doing here recently. I think they look kinda tacky. But to each their own, right? =)

    Like

    • LOL good advice! I’ll watch those candles for sure. I agree about the blow-ups things. I’ve seen a few cute ones but they can quickly get out of control. It is so fun though to see what people do to decorate – I love when families go all out! I live in a VERY Christmas-y town (it is tourist driven, so it starts the day after Halloween here!) so there are lots of options to see people decking the halls. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

