That Moment When…

 

Sometimes, I feel like my blog becomes a big commercial for self-publishing, and I don’t intend that to be the case. But sometimes there are just these moments that get me so excited that I just can’t help but share them. Yesterday was one of these moments.

As I get closer to finishing my revisions (a lot of it is full out re-writes, let’s be honest), I’ve started looking more seriously into the other final steps – formatting, fonts, cover art. And I narrowed down my search to four cover artists I was considering. Then I narrowed it down to two. Then, on a whim, I asked a friend who is craaaazy talented to see what she could come up with, just for fun in her spare time. I thought maybe she could help me to narrow my vision of what I was looking for, and sift through some ideas to weed out what would eventually work and what wouldn’t. And it was working – we were getting closer.

And then yesterday. I got an email from her with no text at all, just the image she’d been working on. And I got instant goosebumps. It was my cover. THIS. IS. IT. It was a moment I’ve been looking forward to for a long time, and it caught me completely by surprise. And it was wonderful.

And this this THIS is why I’m self-publishing. For these moments. It’s not a commercial; it’s not a debate; I’m not out to convince anyone to make the choice I’ve made. But I know that this is absolutely the right choice for me. And it’s moments like this that show me that. To be able to design and choose my own cover art down to the smallest detail is HUGE to me – having control over every aspect of how my book is presented (inside and out)… that’s what it’s all about for me.

I’m not sharing it yet. There will be a blog tour and cover reveal when the time is right (if I can figure out how to organize that! That’ll be the next step). I can’t wait to share it with the world! But for now, just know that it’s worth waiting for.

6 thoughts on “That Moment When…

    • Thanks Leandra! I’m super excited to share it!! And I’m totally the same way – I love alllll cover reveals, but there’s something really special when you know the author was involved in the process.

      Like

  1. you don’t even know how much I love this. When I was weighing my options (and I cannot tell you HOW CLOSE I was to choosing to SP) the cover thing was probably numero uno. I have seen plenty of trad pub authors get royally screwed with covers that are just fugly, plain and simple, and they can’t do much about it. I can’t wait to see your cover and when you’re ready I can be one of your stops on a blog tour (I’m not sure how all of that goes either so we can muddle our way through together!)

    Like

  2. I love this 🙂
    I’m not sure why I’m missing your blog..I hope i’m “following” it properly now so I can get the posts!

    what is a blog tour?

    I am excited for you. and I am really with you on the self-publishing thing. If publishers make authors do most of their own publicity now anyway due to lack of funds, well… why on earth go with traditional publishing?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

