Some Summer Magic

 

 

I can’t believe my last post was June 7, and next week is July! How did this happen, and who authorized it? Man, time goes so fast these days.

I have a confession to make, and please don’t hate me for saying this… but summer is my least favourite season. There. I said it. I know, I know, everybody loves it for the freedom and the vacation and the sunny days and blah blah blah. But honestly, summer to me means mostly humidity and crowds and looking for the next place I can find air conditioning. That being said, however, there are a few things that I look forward to when this time of year rolls around.

Road Trips – I love them at any time of year, but there’s something extra special about escaping the daily routine and driving off into the horizon. Windows rolled down, music too loud, wind in your hair … it’s a beautiful thing.

Summer movies – I love summer movies! The action, blow-things-up movies are usually exactly what I’m in the mood for when the days get long and hot. Plus the family movies (that I love to go see and complain about all the kids there – go figure). I’ve already seen Maleficent twice and can’t wait to see it again. It’s FANTASTIC and I highly recommend it, for those of you who haven’t seen it. Angelina Jolie is amazing, and the little girl who plays young Maleficent is extraordinary. Truly – go see it. But I digress…

And I save my favourite summer feature for last. If you know me personally or you’ve read my ms, you already know what it is. Fireflies. Yes, okay, they’re bugs. But they GLOW. Did you hear me people? These amazing little creations actually LIGHT UP! No battery required! Granted, I grew up on the Central Coast in California, and they don’t exist there. The only ones I grew up with were the ones on a string inside Pirates of the Caribbean at Disneyland. So it’s true that I may get a little extra excited now that I live somewhere that I can experience them for real, but come on… you have to admit, they are pure summer magic.

fireflies

8 thoughts on “Some Summer Magic

  1. I was just letting the dog in the other night, and I saw a firefly blinking on in the backyard. There are only two bugs I will voluntarily touch- ladybugs and fireflies! And we’re getting ready to go on a road trip on Sat. To St. Louis to the zoo. Yeeaah!

    Like

    • Isn’t it funny how ladybugs and fireflies are somehow exempt from Bug-dom? And butterflies too, for the most part. And yet beetles and moths both creep me out. People are weird. šŸ™‚
      I hear the St Louis Zoo is great – I live in Missouri but I haven’t made it up there yet. Enjoy your road trip!!

      Like

  2. I hate summer too! Summers in Arizona are like winters in other places, becuase you pretty much have to stay indoors to survive. Or in a pool, which we’ve never had. AND, we don’t even have fireflies, so that makes it worse. I’ve honestly only seen fireflies a couple times in my life. šŸ˜¦

    Like

    • Oh yes, summer in Arizona … I only experienced it ONCE and that was enough. The fact that it’s a “dry heat” really doesn’t help as much as people seem to think … not when it’s 110 outside! As for the fireflies, they’re worth seeking out. Summer road trip to see fireflies … can’t get much better than that. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

