A Love List for my book

book heart

Today’s post is all about inspiration. One of the blogs I follow (by Leandra, it’s about books, writing, and life in general – found here – it’s fantastic!) had a post that was so well timed in my writing journey. It was so inspiring to me, I have to follow her lead. She calls it a “love list,” and it’s basically a reminder that when I’m in the depths of editing and the throes of revisions, and I just want to delete the whole bloody thing and burn all of my notes … there are still things that I love about my story. What an amazing gift that can be in those dark moments! And for everyone who hasn’t been a beta reader, it’s a little tease of the things to come. So with no further ado, here is my love list for Drawn In…

Bonfire at the beach

Best friends

Sushi

My hometown

A cave full of secrets

First date

Not falling out of a tree

Shakespeare

Forbidden paper

Olive

Sketches & dreams

“Tell me a story”

Kisses in the park

Nerd shirts

A gift of fireflies

Just creating this list made me smile, and want to dive back into my story. Truly, if you are a writer, you owe yourself a love list. In a blog, in a journal, in the margins of your manuscript, on the back of a napkin … somewhere, just create this. You won’t regret it.

7 thoughts on “A Love List for my book

    • Thank you, dear friend! I’m excited for you to read the latest version, even though I JUST NOW realized one major thing I was going to work in there and never did. Well… there’s always the next book, right? LOL

      Like

  1. Great list! I especially love: the gift of fireflies(yes, plz!), forbidden paper(ooh, so intriguing!), & not falling out of tree’ (thank u, I’d rather not). And thx for the shout-out! =)

    Like

  2. I find it fascinating that I can’t tell that you’re writing a book with time travel in it from your list! I’m curious to see how that will play out in your story. I loved this idea when I saw Leandra do it and I still love it after seeing you do it. It’s on my to-do list for my own WIP. It’s just hard to prioritize it when I have 50 other things on my WIP to-do list. πŸ˜›

    Like

    • Karyne – Such an interesting comment! I love that!
      There actually are a few things on the list that correspond to the time-travel element (Olive, forbidden paper, not falling out of a tree… a few others) but not overtly. You’d have to read the book to see how they fit in. πŸ˜‰
      I subscribed to your BEAUTIFUL blog as well, so when you get to do yours, I’ll look forward to reading it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

